Diving in…reflecting on reflections.

I am drawn to reflections…to the reflected images on other surfaces.  Trees on still water. Lights on wet roads. City lights on the Yarra.  I try to get the perfect photo that reflects these reflections back at me from the screen of my phone.

It is as if there is a secret, parallel world behind the perfectly reflected real world image.

Everything looks so much better in the reflection. 

But why do reflections provoke such feelings? Why are we drawn to these images? I decide to do some research and this is what I discovered…

reflection

rɪˈflɛkʃ(ə)n/
noun

1. the throwing back by a body or surface of light, heat, or sound without absorbing it.
“the reflection of light”
synonyms: sending back, throwing back, casting back, mirroring, backscattering
“the colours seen in soap bubbles are caused by reflection of light”

2. serious thought or consideration.
“he doesn’t get much time for reflection”
synonyms: thought, thinking, consideration, contemplation, study, deliberation, pondering, meditation, musing, rumination, cogitation, brooding, agonizing; rarecerebration
“after some reflection, he turned the offer down”

  There is a law of reflection – in physics. Circumstances have to be right…angles and light and so on, for reflections to occur.

reflection

Maybe that is why they are appealing. They are special, like a rainbow. Only occurring at certain times. Or in that particular way at certain times.

Then they are gone…they are fleeting, here one minute, gone the next…

To capture this moment in a photograph gives a pleasant sense of satisfaction and achievement. A feeling of having captured the imaginary world, of having forced time to stand still. Sometimes the images are surreal, almost other-worldy. Sometimes they give a perfect mirror image. But always the reflection seems better than the real.

When it is on water, I feel I want to dive into this other world and discover things that don’t exist in the real world. 

IMG_20170704_174812
Taking the leap

As much as I search I can’t find the answers I seek… my searches keep bringing up pages of self-help therapy stuff. On reflecting on yourself etc. All probably very useful but not what I am after.

So I added photography to the word ‘reflection’ in google…

“Using reflection in photography can lead to some amazing effects and beautiful images. … Diffused light is generally better for taking photos, and using reflected light, either as the main source of light or for highlighting, is an excellent way to capture diffused light.”

 Marie-Claire Montanari is a photographer whose images represented reality,  she worked with a triptych of elements through the use of shadows, light and reflections

“The camera is an instrument of detection. We photograph not only what we know, but also what we don’t know.”

PRAGUE by O-Renzo

Now this I like…very, very much…

praha___reflection_by_o_renzo-dupecu

I too, have a puddle reflection. I took it in Hoi An, Vietnam. Here it is…

OK, so not quite as professional. But it is mine. I captured it.

Then I found this explanation…By  

Tips for Capturing Great Photos of Reflections

Either way, incorporating reflections into your photos will challenge the viewer’s visual perceptions, and open up many creative possibilities. Reflections are a great way to add a dash of mystery and some extra style to your photos.

I searched through my photos from the last few years. Here is my collection of reflection shots, I am sure there will be more to come…

 

Leave a Reply

